EMPL committee elects Chair and Vice-Chairs for 2014-2019

7 Jul 2014, keywords :

The Employment and Social Affairs committee of the new European Parliament today (7 July) held its constituent meeting in Brussels, the inaugural meeting which saw the election of the Chair and Vice-Chairs for the next 5 years.

EMPL committee elects Chair and Vice-Chairs for 2014-2019

Thomas Händel, a returning German MEP from the Confederal Group of the European United Left – Nordic Green Left, was elected as Chair. Mr Händel, previously an active member in the EMPL committee, stressed the importance of all political parties working together to address the social challenges in the EU today. Mr Händel also gave a brief insight into what he considered should be the main priorities over the coming years, mentioning specifically youth unemployment, poverty, equal pay for equal work and the European Semester.

Four Vice-Chairs were also elected at the meeting Slovenian MEP Marita Ulvskog (S&D), Polish MEP Danuta Jazłowiecka (EPP), Danish MEP Ulla Tørnæs (ALDE) and Dutch MEP Agnes Jongerius (S&D).

The Chair announced that the next meeting of the EMPL committee will take place on 22 July during which MEPs will have the opportunity to debate with the Italian Labour Minister. Italy will hold the Presidency of the Council of the EU, a mandate due to last until January 2014.

From left to right Marita Ulvskog, Thomas Händel and Agnes Jongerius. Photos ©European Parliament